Postwirt´s History

Tradition welcomes Modernity…how our en-trend 4* hotel emerged
from its 13th century Inn beginnings…

A Look Back

Indulge us with a trip down memory lane, to the birth year of our 13th century traditional Inn.

THe History of the Postwirt

  • The „Postgasthof“ is first mentioned in official documents in the 13th Century, making it the oldest preserved building in the Söllandl region.
  • If these walls could speak….the thick walls have borne witness to many weighty decisions over the centuries.  It’s as if the old vaults whisper of the 800 years of Tirolean hospitality.
  • In  February 1809, Andreas Hofer, Freedon Fighter Commander in Chief, visited the Postwirt Söll (formerly known as Nuimoar).  He came, among other things, to visit his old friend and host, Homeland  Defence Captain Josef Rainer – our ancestor and major player in the Tirol Freedom Fighters uprising.
  • On May 7th 1945 Ritter von Hengel, together with the last party of German armed forces „Wehrmacht“, surrendered to US troops in the parlour of the Post Inn. At the large round marble table which still stands in it’s original form today, to be precise. Thus Söll can lay claim to having played a significant role in war history!
  • Over the centuries the Postwirt played host to many historical figures not least His Imperial and Royal Higness Prince Archduke Ferdinand (August 5th, 1897).
  • Back to current day – the existing building has been sympathetically extended with the addition of a new building, creating space light and all-out comfort.  Yet still reflecting our age-old values of high-level hospitality for each and every guest.
  • Sadly in 1996, the family suffered a terrible blow in the sudden passing of our owner and chief Johann Bliem.  This was a testing and difficult time for the family, but with the endless dedication and pulling together of the team and family members, we have recovered and proudly continue the tradition of the Postwirt – the Mountain Bike Hotel Söll and Hiking Hotel.

ENQUIRE NOW

Please let us know your desired date of arrival. We will contact you as soon as possible and send you a perfect offer for your next holiday in Söll in Tirol.
Enter your contact information
Privacy Agree
To protect your data

I hereby agree, until further notice, that my data will be included in the database of the hotel for the purpose of sending an offer. Please take care not to enter any sensitive data in the remark field.

Subscribe to the Postwirt Newsletter

I hereby agree to the cancellation of the hotel newsletter. My data (name & e-mail) will be sent to third parties (for example our advertising agency) and their newsletter system (international data processor) for further processing.

Postwirt´s Geschichte

Tradition trifft Moderne … wie aus einem Gasthof aus dem 13. Jahrhundert unser gehobenes 4*-Hotel entstanden ist …

Ein Blick zurück

Reisen Sie mit uns zurück ins 13. Jahrhundert, dem „Geburtsjahr“ unseres, von Tradition geprägten Gasthofs.

Die Geschichte des Postwirts

  • Im 13. Jahrhundert wird der Postgasthof erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Er ist damit das älteste bis heute erhaltene Gebäude im gesamten Söllandl.
  • Viele wichtige Entscheidungen wurden hinter den dicken Mauern im Laufe der Jahrhunderte getroffen und heute ist es, als erzählten die alten Gewölbe von den 800 Jahren der Tiroler Gastfreundschaft.
  • Im Februar 1809 war der Oberkommandant des Tiroler Freiheitskampfes, Andreas Hofer, zu Besuch im Postwirt Söll (vormals beim Nuimoar), um unter anderem seinen alten Freund, den Schützenhauptmann und Gastwirt Josef Rainer, zu besuchen. Bei Josef Rainer handelt es sich um unseren Vorfahren, der auch maßgeblich am Tiroler Freiheitskampf beteiligt war.
  • Am 7.Mai 1945 ergab sich Ritter von Hengel und mit ihm die letzte Gruppe der deutschen Wehrmacht den US-Truppen in der Stube des Gasthofes Post, genauer gesagt am großen runden Marmortisch, welcher immer noch im originalen Zustand erhalten ist. So gelangte Söll noch zu einer kriegsgeschichtlichen Berühmtheit.
  • Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte beherbergte und bewirtete der Postwirt viele historische Persönlichkeiten, unter anderem die kaiserliche und königliche Hoheit Prinz Erzherzog Ferdinand (5. August 1897).
  • Inzwischen ist das Stammhaus um einen großen Neubau, dessen Zimmer höchsten Komfort und genügend Platz bieten, erweitert worden. Dennoch sind wir jeden Tag aufs Neue bemüht, die jahrhundertealte Tradition der gelebten Gastfreundschaft jeden einzelnen Besucher spüren zu lassen.
  • 1996 ereilte die Familie ein großer Schicksalsschlag, als der Besitzer und Gastwirt des Postwirts, Johann Bliem, unerwartet verstarb. Die Familie und in weiterer Folge der gesamte Betrieb durchlebten eine schwierige Zeit, konnten sich aber durch den unermüdlichen Einsatz und den Zusammenhalt des Teams und der Familienmitglieder wieder erholen und das Traditionsunternehmen Postwirt, das Hotel Söll – das Mountainbike Hotel Söll und Hotel Wandern – weiterführen.

JETZT ANFRAGEN

Teilen Sie uns Ihren Wunschtermin mit. Wir werden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen melden und Sie erhalten unser Angebot für Ihren perfekten Urlaub in Söll in Tirol.
Kontaktdaten Eingeben